salmon and sea trout flies

7 03 2012

The salmon and sea trout season is nearly upon us and there’s nothing like having a load of new flies to try. The last few months has been pretty hectic to say the least with all the winter fishing that I’ve done and constantly tying flies for trout and grayling to make up for the flies I’ve lost. That’s now behind me and with a bit more time on my hands I decided to start tying all new flies for salmon and sea trout and give the grayling and trout flies a break. Here are the salmon patterns I will be using through the season.

I’m particularly fond of the Irish Shrimp style of flies and after speaking with some friends, I decided to settle on a small selection that includes one or two of the more well known patterns like the Silver Wilkinson and a variety that I have made up from others I’ve seen. I chose the Silver Wilkinson because one stretch of River I’ll be fishing is tidal and as it’s got a reputation for taking fresh run grilse, I’m hoping it’ll do the business so to speak. I’ve got one or two other standard patterns like Allys’ Cascade just to fall back on but, here’s hoping. All the patterns ahve been tied on size 8, 10, 12 partridge trebles and doubles in gold silver and black. At the backend of last season, I had the opportunity to fish and had a grilse of 6lb. Initially I fished a dark fly because the water was slightly coloured but that brought me no luck. A quick change to a Red Ally’s brought me almost instant success. Like I’ve said, I like the Irish Shrimp style and obviously like the colour red! With that in mind, I decided to tie up the fly I caught the fish on Irish Shrimp style:

The Red One!

I’ve got high hopes for it!

Seatrout and seatrout flies are another relatively new avenue for me. Although I’ve fished for them previously, I’ve never quite cracked it. One or two fish here and there are always a bonus but unravelling the mystery of these fish and how to catch them has seemed like torture on times. So once again, I decide to start with a clean slate and make a box from scratch.

Most of them are simple flies that only have one or two materials in them. The Silver Stoat or ‘black ‘n silver as it’s called in Wales is one of the top flies here in Wales; the Peter Ross is another. These flies are timeless and haven’t lost any of their catching abilitiy and so are as effective now as they were all those years ago. I’m looking forward to what the new season brings and hopefully I’ll be armed well enough to tackle the fish and conditions I meet. That said, I won’t know until I go fishing and give them a swim! I’ll keep you updated. In the meantime, here’s a slide show of both the salmon and sea trout patterns. I just can’t wait to get them in the river and I hope they bring me some big fish. Tightlines!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 03 2012
Alun Rees

I like that red shrimp! I think you’ll have some fun with that as long as the fish put in an appearance.

Nice couple of boxes Lew!

13 03 2012
tightlineswithsion

cheers mate just cant wait to give them a swim

Leave a Reply

